Family Fun Things to Do Family Fun! Our Schools Uncategorized

14 Richland One Seniors Named 2020 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!

September 11, 2019

Fourteen Richland One high school seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Nationwide, more than 16,000 seniors are competing in this prestigious national program which awards scholarships to academically talented students. In this high-
stakes competition, students will compete for 7,600 scholarships worth $31 million. Finalists will be selected in February 2020, and scholarship winners will be announced in the spring and summer.

Richland One congratulates the following seniors for their selection as semifinalists, an honor that less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors achieve:

Dreher High School students (front row, left to right)
Hanah Watts, Catherine “Callie” Reid, Julian
“Jackson” Ellenberg, Rahul Bulusu, Caroline Hynes,
(back row, left to right) Mary Frances “Francie” Shavo, Sarah Germany,
Johan “Willem” Van Rosevelt, David Shealy
and Alexander Randall.

Dreher High School
Rahul Bulusu
Julian J. Ellenberg
Sarah R. Germany
Caroline E. Hynes
Alexander G. Randall
Catherine E. Reid
Mary F. Shavo
David B. Shealy
Johan Willem R. van Rosevelt
Hanah J. Watts

A.C. Flora High School students (front) Lauren Amrol,
(second row) Elizabeth Thomas, Chloe Courtney Bohl 
and (back row) Thomas Kepley.

A.C. Flora High School
Lauren Amrol
Chloe L. Courtney Bohl
Thomas H. Kepley
Elizabeth P. Thomas

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and college scholarships. Semifinalists are chosen based on high scores on the PSAT. There are three types of awards: National Merit $2,500 scholarships; corporate-sponsored Merit awards; and college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

Leave a Reply